District 13

Texas District 13 of the United States House of Representatives includes most of the Texas Panhandle, parts of Texoma and northeastern parts of North Texas. It winds across the Panhandle into the South Plains, then runs east across the Red River Valley.

It includes Archer, Armstrong, Baylor, Briscoe, Carson, Childress, Clay, Collingsworth, Cooke, Cottle, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Donley, Foard, Gray, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Jack, King, Knox, Lipscomb, Montague, Moore, Motley, Ochiltree, Oldham, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, Wheeler, Wichita, and Wilbarger counties. Parts of Floyd and Wise counties are also included in the district.


Covering over 40,000 square miles, it is the 19th-largest district by area in the nation, the 14th-largest that does not cover an entire state, and the second-largest in Texas. It covers more land mass than thirteen entire states.

According to the Cook Partisan Voting Index, it is the most Republican district in the country. In 2012, this was President Barack Obama's lowest percentage of the vote in a congressional district. He received 18.5% of the vote. In 2016, this was also Hillary Clinton's lowest percentage of the vote in a congressional district. She received an even lower percentage than President Obama in 2012, receiving only 16.9% of the vote compared to Donald Trump's 79.9%.